Surprised, but no regrets, says Pua after losing CEC seat

Hebahkan !!!

PETALING JAYA: Damansara MP Tony Pua is surprised he failed to make the cut for a seat in DAP’s central executive committee (CEC), saying he did not expect to miss out on a place in the top leadership as a whole.

In a statement, Pua said he was disappointed by the DAP delegates’ decision but maintained that he had no regrets over his past 14 years as a CEC member.

Having been a part of the CEC since 2008, he said, he had worked towards attracting young, talented Malaysians to join the party and to improve the quality of DAP’s elected representatives.

“Perhaps my zeal in averaging up the quality of our elected representatives had the unintended consequence of offending some within the party, especially in Selangor where I was first defeated in the party’s state committee election in 2018.

“I have, however, no regrets at all in giving the opportunity to the young and talented, who will ultimately become the bedrock of the party’s future.

“While I wasn’t expecting very high votes today (Sunday), I certainly wasn’t expecting to miss the cut, especially in an enlarged CEC. It is undoubtedly disappointing, but I accept the decision of the party delegates with an open heart.”

The former political secretary to Lim Guan Eng said he had told newly elected secretary-general Loke Siew Fook that he did not want to be made an appointed CEC member as it was clear that delegates did not want him in the top leadership.

He urged DAP members and supporters to give Loke their backing as he took over the top post from Lim, expressing confidence that the Seremban MP would lead the party towards forming the federal government again.

Pua and Bangi MP Ong Kian Ming, who had backed political cooperation with the Muhyiddin Yassin government last year, failed to defend their seats in DAP’s CEC at the party elections yesterday.

Pua, who was the DAP national publicity chief, obtained 744 votes while Ong, the assistant political education director, obtained 535. They trailed far behind Sabah assembly member Jannie Lasimbang, who secured the 30th position with 877 votes.

Leave a Reply